Euro 2020 in various cities across Europe instead of single country

European football’s governing body, UEFA, have announced today that the Euro 2020 tournament will be held across various cities across the continent instead of a single country. The decision of a “Euro for Europe” was taken by UEFA’s governing body in Lausanne on 6 December, 2012 following an idea proposed by president Michel Platini.
The 2012 European Championships were held in Poland and Ukraine while the 2016 edition of the tournament will be held in France.
In the history of the European championships, which began in 1960, the tournament has generally been held in one country, with three tournaments since 2000 being co-hosted by two countries ( 2000 by Belgium/Holland, 2008 by Austria/Poland and the 2012 tournament)
The format and the number of cities will be determined later, with bidding for the cities beginning in March 2014.
Hosting countries for the Euros have always qualified automatically, but it remains to be seen whether all countries hosting the tournament get direct entry.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post